Awakening the Artist and Critic in All of us
 
Thanks to a classmate's recommendation for an online photo editing program, I used Fotoflexer for all of the exercises below. 

Cropping Exercise: page 193
Picture
ORIGINAL Colorful Beach
This image reflects a beautiful beach scene. The focus seems to be on the colors in the sky and the bridge that divides the image. There's also a family on the beach in the lower portion of the image. This could be considered a focal point and is made clearer in the first cropped image below. 

Picture
CROPPED Colorful Beach #1  
In this cropped version, I made the focal point the family on the beach. The fact that the family is off to the left draws your eye and makes you pay attention to them. 

Picture
CROPPED Colorful Beach #2
I like this version that I cropped the most best because the balance is off. The bridge doesn't divide the image in half. Instead, it remains in the lower portion. The sky consumes the rest of the photo and is the undeniable focal point. 

Picture
ORIGINAL Graffiti
I thought this image was really cool. There's so much visual energy and movement. It's so chaotic and that's part of what makes it interesting. 

Picture
CROPPED Graffiti
By cropping this section of the image, I drew attention to a part of the wall that might have been obscured otherwise. 

Picture
ORIGINAL Rear View Mirror
A lot of people take pictures of images in their rear view mirror, so I found this one that would be improved with a little cropping. 

Picture
CROPPED Rear View Mirror
In the original image above, I found the part of the image that shows the interior of the car unnecessary. Therefore, I removed it and only focused on the rear view mirror. Now you can focus on the traffic reflected in the mirror. 

Picture
ORIGINAL Driving to Pebble Beach
This is a photo that I took as my friends and I were driving to Pebble Beach. It's difficult to find a focal point in this image. 

Picture
CROPPED Driving to Pebble Beach
By cropping the photo in this way, the view becomes more  panoramic. The focal point seems to be the end of the road or where the road leads, depending on how you look at it. 

Picture
ORIGINAL Church in San Francisco
This is a photo I took of a church in San Francisco. 

Picture
CROPPED Church in San Francisco
I cropped the photo to focus on the Philly Cheese Steak sign. I thought it stood out in the original, so cropping it in this way emphasized this ironic sign. Get it? Original Philly Cheese Steak in San Francisco? :)

Picture
ORIGINAL Hill in San Francisco
Here is a photo I took of a famous landmark in San Francisco.

Picture
CROPPED Hill in San Francisco
By cropping it in this way, I removed the unnecessary buildings so that you could see the cars winding down this curious hill. 

Border Variation Exercise: page 197
Picture
Looking through all of my photos from San Francisco made me think about my travels, and when I came upon this exercise, I thought about when I travelled to Mykonos, Greece. I couldn't find the photos that I took there, so I found a photo online. 

Picture
I used blurred edges for this border. It draws the eye inward. 

Picture
I used a circular border for this version. The shape echoes the contour of the coastline. 

Picture
I used a thick, dark blue border for this version. I chose dark blue to echo the dark blue tones in the mountains.

Picture
For this version, I used photo edges. It's fun, and it looks like it belongs in a scrapbook. 

Picture
This blurred border waters down the colors along the edges. It makes the picture look dreamy.

Conveyance Exercise: page 299
Picture
For shred, I used brush strokes to "shred" each letter.

Picture
For lightly, I used an airy font and placed the word in a cloud, which is perceived to be light. 

Picture
For atom, I used an image of an atom for the O.

Picture
Similarly, for brick, I used an image of a brick wall for the I.

Picture
For pillow, I used glittery, light blue letters. I associate light blue with the sky, dreaminess, and sleep. 

Picture
For XXL, I used bold capital letters. It screams extra large. 




Leave a Reply.

    Vanessa Astore

    I am an eighth grade language arts teacher in Orange, New Jersey, and a graduate student at the Rutgers Graduate School of Education. This blog serves to share ideas about media literacy and design. 

    Archives

    April 2013
    March 2013
    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All