Awakening the Artist and Critic in All of us
 
Picture
Introduction:
 In “Skills and Strategies for E-learning in a Participatory Culture,” Simon Walker, Jill Jameson, and Malcolm Ryan discuss a learning theory called connectivism.  George Siemens believes “that ‘connectivitism presents a model of learning that acknowledges the tectonic shifts in a society where learning is no longer an internal, individualistic activity.” Evidence of this theory is substantiated in the emergence of online communities and forums. The following are the forums and online communities that I will join to develop necessary skills as I design my Multimedia Montage Project. 

Classroom 2.o 
To start, I will join an online community called Classroom 2.0.

In order to learn more about how to develop a participatory culture in my classroom as part of my Multimedia Montage Project, I need to learn more about how to incorporate social media and web 2.0 tools. This forum is a perfect place for me to gather tips and get feedback on how to use certain tools. What attracted me to this particular community is its high activity, varied 2.0 labs, and a live classroom where you could interact with teachers in real time. 

English Companion
Another online community that I will join is called English Companion. As a language arts teacher, this site will help inform my instruction in general. 

More specifically, it will help support me in designing the content area specifics of my Multimedia Montage Project. I was thinking about designing my project around my upcoming unit on argument writing. I’m anticipating this unit with much apprehension because I am new to teaching this specific genre of persuasive composition. However, this year, for the first time, the state of NJ will be testing eighth graders on how to write an argument piece on the NJASK. Therefore, I must learn how to teach these new skills---FAST! Designing my project around this unit and participating in this community will be invaluable to my instruction.

Thinkfinity-Online Tools for Educators
The Thinkfinity group that I will join is Online Tools for Educators.

This group will assist me in learning how to use online tools and figure out how to work out gliches. One discussion thread already caught my eye because it speaks to a problem that I experience in the classroom. Members were discussing how to use Youtube even when it’s blocked. Getting immediate feedback on how to trouble shoot will definitely help me when designing my project, especially since many of the tools will brand new to me.


Scribophile and Teen Ink
Finally, I will join Scribophile.

Joining this online community of writers will help me learn what it feels like to actually post and share my work with the world. Steve Sabet actually pointed out a really important line in Elizabeth Daley’s “Expanding the Concept of Literacy” that I believe should shape the design of my Multimedia Montage Project. Daley states that students “want to be understood by their peers and by others who will see and experience their projects.” Far too often, my students write very meaningful pieces and the only person who gets to witness their brilliance is…me. This has to change going forward. I plan on having my students share their argument pieces on Teenink as part of my Multimedia Montage Project. However, before I suggest that they share their most prized thoughts with the world, I should see what it’s like for myself.  I’ll do so with Scribophile. 


Professor H
2/1/2013 09:49:33 am

Hi Vanessa,

Classroom 2.0 is a TERRIFIC source for teachers who are at the top of their social media/ed tech game -- you'll be in good company within that community of practitioners; I know this from personal experience.

Nicely done!
Prof H

Reply
Vanessa Astore
2/9/2013 06:36:43 am

Thank you, Professor Holan! I'm excited about this one.

Reply
2/1/2013 11:04:16 pm

Hi Vanessa. The Classroom 2.0 community sounds great and has peaked my interest, especially now that I have seen the Professor’s comment on it as well. I also choose the Online Tools for Educators and the same discussion thread about working around the block on Youtube caught my eye as well. Both of us have gone in similar directions in our choices, though I teach middle school social studies so my content groups are different. Finally, I understand your apprehension about teaching argument writing. My department now teaches argument writing in the form of DBQ’s (primary/secondary source document analysis followed by an argument essay to support analysis with citations). These are basically mini-research papers. We have switched to this format in response to the upcoming change in testing as well. You may want to talk with the Social Studies teachers in your building to see if they are doing this as well, they may have some advice for you. You can also ask me if you need any help. I am the only SS teacher in my building so I work with the LAL teachers frequently. Quick side note: a sixth grade student told her LAL teacher the other day that she learned how to write a proper introduction from me, not him. CCCS must be working!!

Good luck with your project and the upcoming argument writing assignment.

Reply
Vanessa Astore
2/9/2013 06:40:57 am

Hi Brandi,

Thanks for offering your help! I would appreciate any resources that you have to send my way.One of our social studies teachers started working on writing arguments, so I'll definitely be consulting with her as well. I have taught the persuasive essay and the research paper before, but I'm still working out the details to transition to argument writing.

Kudos to you on the student affirmation. It's so awesome when we know that the students actually attribute their learning to something WE did!

Reply
Leigh
2/2/2013 05:03:01 am

Vanessa,

I love the idea of using TeenInk. Finding new ways to make an audience meaningful for students is so difficult. Asking them to write letters can be meaningful, but I find it to be so disconnected from how they communicate. Using a site like TeenInk is a more accessible and realistic audience for the students. Have you considered how you will go about it logistically? I would like to look into it too, but I know I'll need approval from my boss as well as parents. If I come up with anything, I'll share it with you.

Reply
Vanessa Astore
2/9/2013 07:01:33 am

Hi Leigh,

I agree. Students always invest more when they know they have a wider audience. I haven't worked out the details yet, but as soon as I do, I'll definitely let you know. Perhaps Teenink has a release form. If not, I'll check it out with my tech coordinator or administration.

Also, thank you for offering resources! I need all the help I can get :)

Reply
Kristen
2/3/2013 04:42:34 am

I love the idea of joining online writing/publishing communities in order to experience the process with your students. Your post actually reminded me that I had joined a site called Scribd, which is a similar site as the ones you mention. This idea reminds me of the course here at Rutgers called "Teachers as Writers". My professor impressed upon us the importance of being a writer along with our students so that they value the task as more than just completing an assignment for a grade. Good luck with your project!

Reply
Vanessa Astore
2/9/2013 07:04:41 am

I had no idea that there was an actual course called "Teachers as Writers." I might look into taking that. Is it an undergrad course?

It is so important that we try to do what we expect them to do. It helps us anticipate things that might be too easy, difficult, or confusing. I always try to write a model myself even if I have a model in the textbook. It seems to make my lessons go more smoothly and the kids love to see that I "actually wrote it."

Reply
Danny
2/3/2013 09:18:20 am

Vanessa,
I think the way you found resources for different aspects of your project is going to be so helpful. Its an awesome idea that I may or may not have to steal. I also love that you are using Teen Ink, its a really innovative way to use multimedia and this project.

Reply
Vanessa Astore
2/9/2013 07:06:07 am

Steal away! As cheesy as it sounds, my coworker always says, "Sharing is caring!" It truly is.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Vanessa Astore

    I am an eighth grade language arts teacher in Orange, New Jersey, and a graduate student at the Rutgers Graduate School of Education. This blog serves to share ideas about media literacy and design. 

    Archives

    April 2013
    March 2013
    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All